Home > Bringing America Back, Foreclosure, Mortgage Modification, Mortgage Modification Scams > Have You Been the Victim of a Mortgage Modification Scam?

Have You Been the Victim of a Mortgage Modification Scam?

We’ve heard an incredible number of stories about scams and fraudulent practices from those seeking our help. If you’ve been a victim of a mortgage modification scam we want to hear from you.

We are gathering information for our media and law enforcement contacts. It will also help to warn others not to be victimized by the same fraudulent companies.

Please post your story in the comments section of this post.

  1. Michael Szalay
    December 30, 2011 at 8:30 am

    I applied for a loan modification through Secure Loan Mod out in Irvine, CA in early 2010 through the HAMP Program. They asked for $2400.00 up front and guaranteed to lower my mortgage to $1,200 per month and I am currently paying $1710.00 a month. Submitted all necessary documents which was required. In July of 2011 I suffered a stroke and was hospitalized. While in the hospital, I received a letter from an attorney from Rhode Island indicating that they are representing my Lender and have put the house up for Auction. I immediately contacted Secure Loan Mod and informed them from my hospital bed. They were unaware of the auction date in early August 2011. They called me and stated that they contacted Americas’s Servicing Company (aka WELLS FARGO) and had the auction date cancelled. Another auction was done for September. Each time the auction date was cancelled, they were asking me to pay $400.00 for each Auction cancellation. In late October, they called me and informed me that the Lender sent me paperwork (Forbearance Agreement) and not a loan modification. They have continued to call and ask for the last $400.00 for the Auction date in October. I refused and told them that I am not paying anything anymore. I have tried to email them (Domain was taken down, phone number no longer exists. They changed their name from Secure Loan Mod to My Home Retention USA in the same city (Irvine, CA). They have called several times to collect the $400.00 but I never returned their calls. I am not the only person that had a bad experience. Just check out My Home Retention USA reviews on the Web. I have been paying the forbearance amount to my lender and I am in my last payment schedule. My wife is the only person working. I have not received any benefits from SSDI and have been approved for SSDI, however the first check will not start until 2-22-2012. It has been over 9 months that I have not had an income. I do not how we have managed our bills with one income. We are behind on electric, phone and all utilities payment as we set aside ALL of my wife’s pay to pay for the forbearance agreement of $1710.00 per month. I contacted the CA Attorney General and they wrote me back indicating that they could do nothing to help me except for contacting Legal Services in my home state. Also, I contacted the Irvine, CA BBB and filed a complaint. Complaint was initiated with no response from Secure Loan Mod or call back to the BBB Complaint. BBB contacted me and stated that they would place on file as complaint never answered. My Home Retention USA in Irvine CA needs to be shut down as they changed names and doing business to scam more distressed homeowners offering assistance and sending out applications for the HAMP Program which probably was never sent into the government program.My Home Retention USA scammers, Sean Morgan and Eddie Bello need to be prosecuted and shut down!

    Michael Szalay
    4-L Bonnie Lane
    Derry, NH 03038

  2. Michael Szalay
    December 30, 2011 at 8:50 am

    http://www.merchantcircle.com/business/My.Home.Retention.USA.888-262-8415

    Above is the link for My Home Retention USA.

    I have posted reviews along with others.

    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE!!!! YOU ARE THROWING YOUR MONEY AWAY!!!!

    Their Vision Statement on their Web Site is really fraudulent and not in the best interests of homeowners. They are really good SCAMMERS taking adantage of distressed homeowners.

    I think they need to have Ed Schultz, MSNBC, Lawrence O’Donnel, MSNBC and Chris Cumo, ABC News at their door step!

  3. Michael Szalay
    December 30, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    Consumer complaints against Secure Loan Mod. Link is below:

    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/finance/secure-loanmod.html

  4. JEANNE M IRONS
    December 31, 2011 at 11:01 am

    YES! My son has & is. He had a mortgage with Champion years ago, they gave it to HSBC who, after my having a heart attack swore they wanted to help us with a modification. While waiting & faxing paper after paper with them still saying they were in the process of helping, they put him in foreclosure. He has brain injury due to being hit by a car 31 yrs ago & I have to deal with all of this for us. To say it was a nightmare is an understatement! We got through that, still in our home & HSBC gave our mortgage to Beneficial. Sure, sure we’ll help you with a modification! Just fax us papers. One day I realized I had been faxing papers for *over* two years!! with no results of course! We were making payments monthly, waiting for the elusive help when we received a letter stating we “miraculously” owed over $7000 dollars that of course, they wanted right then. I called, wrote, emailed asking everyone I could think of for help…….nothing! Thankfully my son saw Bruce on Diane Sawyer’s show & hopefully we are on our way to getting the help we so desperately need!

  5. Michelle Jacobs
    January 16, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    Citimortgage put me on trial payments for “three” months. I asked them specifically…If I’m denied, does the differece go back into the loan, or do I owe the difference all at once?? They told me it goes back into the loan, so I went for it. After about “five” months of trial payments of about half of my regular payment, I was denied, then they wanted over 4,000 dollars!!! When I told them the rep said it goes back into the loan, no one knew anything about it!!! I had Never missed a payment, and now they say I can’t get re-financed either because of the Home Modification. Bunch of crap.

  6. Certified Processing
    January 18, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    I was contacted my Certified Processing out of Irvine,Ca. I dealt with Kevin, Herman Soto, Randy Reed. I was scammed out of $1400.00. They have refused to reimburse me. It is a sad situation
    that they take advantage of people. In my case I am on disability, and having a hard time financially. I have filed a complaint with the Attorney General, and the BBB. I contact Certified Processing each day. They tell me they can not control what the bank does. So, why was I approved by letter and still lead to believe this modification was going to take place. I heard this from Kevin the so called underwriter, Herman, Randy Reed, Fernando Rojos. No modification was never done according to Greentree Services. Ripped off by Certified Processing 17595 Harvard, Ave. Suite C2230 CA. Please let me know if there is any free legal assistance available
    out of CA. to help me retrieve my losses. I have documentation and receipts of what was promised
    and what was taken from me.

    Sincerely, Dilio H. Padilla
    Pueblo West, Colorado

  7. January 19, 2012 at 2:22 am

    Hi, I’m not affiliated with HSI trust but I do have several bank protest blogs and I am encouraging you all to sign the HSI petition at Change dot org to help a family that had their home parallel foreclosed upon by Wells Fargo and then sold by Wells Fargo even though the family was completely compliant with their government mandated mortgage payment strucuture.

    Please help another family keep their home, and the success of that mission may eventually bless your own situation. http://www.change.org/petitions/john-g-stumpf-ceo-wells-fargo-rescind-rachel-kendalls-foreclosure-auction.

    If you agree to sign the petition, you don’t have to use your real address or zip code if you don’t want to, just make one up. However I would suggest using your real name and correct email address.

  8. Stephanie Seguin
    February 20, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Bank of America and its subsidiaries are a living nightmare. Under the threat of foreclosure and auction, my husband and I desperately reached out to a company that could “save us”. One was from an ad on TV which we immediately saw as “fraud”. Then on the internet we found a company! It all sounded so good to be true. We signed all the documents, sent out the last of any savings that we had, only to be ignored. Our phone calls went unanswered, emails were ignored, then a phone call came in telling my husband that I was not allowed to contact her any longer by phone. She was too busy and didn’t like my aggressive questions. Long story short, after threatening this outfit with reporting them to the BBB, NH Banking Commission,Government Officials and any one else that would listen, ,they sent a release form to reimburse our money. The only answer we got from them for $1895.00, was file for Bankruptcy… that’s the only answer for 6 wks of waiting!!!? They’re from Boynton Beach FL..some “atty network”
    ….DO NOT enlist in their help!

  9. Michael Szalay
    April 12, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    Michael Szalay :
    I applied for a loan modification through Secure Loan Mod out in Irvine, CA in early 2010 through the HAMP Program. They asked for $2400.00 up front and guaranteed to lower my mortgage to $1,200 per month and I am currently paying $1710.00 a month. Submitted all necessary documents which was required. In July of 2011 I suffered a stroke and was hospitalized. While in the hospital, I received a letter from an attorney from Rhode Island indicating that they are representing my Lender and have put the house up for Auction. I immediately contacted Secure Loan Mod and informed them from my hospital bed. They were unaware of the auction date in early August 2011. They called me and stated that they contacted Americas’s Servicing Company (aka WELLS FARGO) and had the auction date cancelled. Another auction was done for September. Each time the auction date was cancelled, they were asking me to pay $400.00 for each Auction cancellation. In late October, they called me and informed me that the Lender sent me paperwork (Forbearance Agreement) and not a loan modification. They have continued to call and ask for the last $400.00 for the Auction date in October. I refused and told them that I am not paying anything anymore. I have tried to email them (Domain was taken down, phone number no longer exists. They changed their name from Secure Loan Mod to My Home Retention USA in the same city (Irvine, CA). They have called several times to collect the $400.00 but I never returned their calls. I am not the only person that had a bad experience. Just check out My Home Retention USA reviews on the Web. I have been paying the forbearance amount to my lender and I am in my last payment schedule. My wife is the only person working. I have not received any benefits from SSDI and have been approved for SSDI, however the first check will not start until 2-22-2012. It has been over 9 months that I have not had an income. I do not how we have managed our bills with one income. We are behind on electric, phone and all utilities payment as we set aside ALL of my wife’s pay to pay for the forbearance agreement of $1710.00 per month. I contacted the CA Attorney General and they wrote me back indicating that they could do nothing to help me except for contacting Legal Services in my home state. Also, I contacted the Irvine, CA BBB and filed a complaint. Complaint was initiated with no response from Secure Loan Mod or call back to the BBB Complaint. BBB contacted me and stated that they would place on file as complaint never answered. My Home Retention USA in Irvine CA needs to be shut down as they changed names and doing business to scam more distressed homeowners offering assistance and sending out applications for the HAMP Program which probably was never sent into the government program.My Home Retention USA scammers, Sean Morgan and Eddie Bello need to be prosecuted and shut down!
    Michael Szalay
    4-L Bonnie Lane
    Derry, NH 03038
    </blockquote

  10. Malaika Elekezana
    May 14, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    I am sad to say and admit that I was taken by Certified Processing who promised to get me a loan modification with Bank of America. All they did was take my money and cause me to fall behind in my house payments. They asked for $695.00 up front and guaranteed to lower my mortgage to $1,200 per month and I am currently paying $1995.00 a month. Submitted all necessary documents which was required. I am contacting the MD Attorney General for help. Certified Processing does not respond in any form or fashion. The phone number has been disconnected. I am fearful that they have changed names and doing business to scam other distressed homeowners offering assistance and sending out applications for the HAMP Program which probably was never sent into the government program!

    • Michael Szalay
      May 16, 2012 at 1:24 pm

      I have gone thru this with a loan mod company in California in 2011..I got taken for $2800.00. Now I have HSI Trust working on my behalf.I am so happy to have HSI working on my behalf! I submitted a claim with the CFPB in February and they could not do anything about the scam and referred me to contacted the FTC. The scammers in California did the same to me…changed names, closed up shop, domain went down, email service went down.

  11. Stephanie Seguin
    May 16, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    This morning I heard that a co-worker, who is up to date with the mortgage, received a foreclosure letter in the mail over the weekend from Bank of America…because their loan wasn’t paid on the exact date due!! Please!! are they that desperate? I so wish we could refi elsewhere, but with HSI Trust we’re hoping to at least be saved:)

  12. daniel
    May 26, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    my name is daniel, i was contacted by a company called certified processing out of irvive CA, saying that they could get me a home modification because i was going to lose my home due to the mortgage going up so much. a lady named michelle borbon said that if i sent her a fee of $1000 she would get my mortgage down to half of what i was paying, and maybe even more. i sent her the money, then never heard anything back from her. now im colse to losing my house, ive since filled out paperwork with my mortgage company, and hopefully i will get the modification through them if im approved, if not i will be homeless. i would just like to get my money back from her if anyone out there can helo me find these people who ripped me off please let me know

    • frankie
      May 30, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      I have been going through Loan Mod HELL with CitiMortgage for over 2 years. I have sent everything they ask for over and over again. They took trial payments for over a year and denied me. In order to run my figures again I was told to stop making payments while it went back into review. My case has been under revtew now for 7 more months. This is wrong!!

      It is time for people to stand up together against these criminals. It is absolutely criminal what the banks and our government are doing. I just had an unbelievable experience that I should let be known.

      I was at my witts end with this loan mod dragging on when I got a phone call from Certified Processing in Irvine, Ca on January 9, 2012. The rep, Digi Fox, said I qualify and they can get the loan mod through for me for a fee of $995.00. To make a long story short, they convinced me that they were in contact with someone at the main branch of Citi who needed more money in order to settle the back late fees before they can approve the loan mod. Like an idiot, I sent the money through Bank of America account in cash. They ended up getting $13,000 before they disconnected their phone numbers. Then less than a week later, I got a call from my bank stating that a few checks going through my account did not look right. Well this Certified Processing company had all of my bank info when they were requesting documents from me, so it is obvious who created these checks. It just so happened to be fraudulent check written for almost the exact amount in my business account. I run a small 6-bed Elderly Care Facility. They tried to put me out of business too.

      The worst part of all of this is that the people who are doing this to people like us come straight down from our own government. I found out that Paul S. Bain is running this ring and he is related to William Bain who was the founder of Bain & Company and whom Mitt Romney worked for as CEO for over 20 yrs. This is all provable. I have proof. The other guys who work with Paul Bain are John S. Keating from “The Keating Five” and Troy Christian Shreves who owns Rhino Construction in San Clamente, Ca. Google these people and see for yourself. They are involved in Real Estate fraud, Bancruptcy fraud, Insurance fraud, and the list goes on. The police do nothing and even the Depatment of Justice turn their backs

      I don’t quite understand why they are doing this to people, but I bet a lot of this ill-gotten money goes to Romney’s campaign/Mormon agenda!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

