Information Gathering

We are gathering information from our clients and social media followers regarding struggles while trying to obtain help from servicers. What do you think the servicers are doing wrong? What problems have you encountered while in the process of obtaining a mortgage modification? Do you feel that you were treated fairly?

Have you reached out to government agencies or members of the House or Senate? Did they offer to help you navigate the maze? If so, what kind of help did they offer?

Do you feel that you have been further victimized by someone other than your servicer?

 

 

  1. Tara
    January 3, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    Hard to find out that info as it is all so secretive. No-one is helping us that’s for sure and I’ve been trying for almost 2 years…….What I think they are doing wrong is turning a blind eye towards the fiasco as it is easier for them to do so and they don’t give a rat’s a## about any of us……and yes, I have reached out and no, they haven’t helped……..hopefully I can find a wifi signal in the park we’ll be living in soon so I can continue to try and solve this on my own……

  2. Bill
    January 3, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    What are they doing wrong? Seriously? The question would be more easily answered if it were “What are they doing right?”. The answer would be just “Nothing”.
    I’ve been dealing with my “servicer’ for over a year now, and have been told I don’t qualify because I make too much money, then I don’t qualify because I don’t make enough money, then I qualify because I’ve gotten rid of several credit cards, then I don’t qualify because I don’t have any credit cards, and on and on. I’ve spoken to at least 2 dozen different “agents” who all claim to be there to help ME, the customer, then disappear into the pack only to be replaced by someone else who asks for all the same paperwork I’d just sent in two weeks prior.
    What are they doing wrong? First, their customer service people need to be brought up to speed on where to route callers, because the CSA’s don’t have a clue in how to help anyone. Second, the banks can upgrade their computer systems so that all of their individual branches within the same company will talk to each other, instead of having multiple platforms and internal domains that won’t share information.
    Have I contacted any government agencies? Oh yes….HUD and FHA…both stated flatly that they weren’t there to help with mods, that I need to talk to my mortgage servicer. Thanks a lot, big government.

  3. January 3, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    Researching this topic for the past 2 years and blogging about it, I think the number one issue is “Debt Restructure first requires a credit default” by the homeowner.

    The Credit default sets in motion several negative actions, including penalties, fees, and a reduced credit score. All of these penalties and fees and the lowered credit score is then used when attempting to then “help” the homeowner get a better mortgage.

    Then there are income tax ramifications in which if the homeowner’s income goes up, this can somehow have an adverse affect on their HAMP.

    The conclusion in my opinion is, Change the debt restructure law to…”Debt Restructuring DOES NOT first require a credit default by the homeowner”, and suddenly the banks may not be as constrained to work with homeowners.

  4. JEANNE M IRONS
    January 4, 2012 at 8:05 am

    What do you think the servicers are doing wrong? Everything!

    What problems have you encountered while in the process of obtaining a mortgage modification? That the people who say they are sincerely trying to help lie, that’s actually all they do is lie. They tell you to do one thing, they tell you to do another & another & another. Then when you call to see how things are going, you find out that things are going no where fast. They have excuse after excuse, can’t read papers, papers are out of date….send more when really it doesn’t matter if you hand delivered the papers, they aren’t reading them anyway & weren’t planning on helping in the first place!

    Do you feel that you were treated fairly? Absolutely not!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We have done everything they said to do over & over & over again but get no where. I honestly don’t see how what they are doing is even legal & I think they should be fully investigated & perhaps sued. I know too many people sue over the most frivolous things these days but these people need to be stopped from hurting people like they do.

    Have you reached out to government agencies or members of the House or Senate? Did they offer to help you navigate the maze? If so, what kind of help did they offer? Yes, I have! I called & emailed everyone I could think of from HUD to the senate/congress to the many groups out there claiming they could & would help. No one helped! No one did anything! Most of them answered me but each had a “reason” why they couldn’t help at this time & they thanked me for my time????? I just couldn’t believe it!!

    Do you feel that you have been further victimized by someone other than your servicer? Actually, I feel like we have been victimized by everyone I asked for help. The HUD people, the agencies I asked for help & esp the senate/congress. All of them say they can help & will help but when it comes right down to it, none of them do. It’s so dis-heartening!

  5. Bill
    January 11, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    The struggles from the banks or servicers are plan and simple the complete run around, telling you wrong information time in a time out. We are missing this, this is unclear, we never got this. Took them ten months to tell me the investor who owes my loan doesn’t participate in Hamp. Why did this take 10 months?
    I went to the state banking dept. politicians all they did is file a complaint on my behalf to the COC Controller of the Currentcy. They open the case and give the Bank (Citimortgage) 30 days to respond unless they want to take longer then they can. Whatever story to banks puts in the letter the COC accepts and closes the case. My letter stated they tried to reach out me and i never responded and hudson city was my investor and they didn’t participate in Hamp.
    No one has helped and no one is even talking about it and it’s an election year.

  6. January 17, 2012 at 2:54 am

    Customer service is nil. We have been working with WF for months now and the first person that took the info and fax never ever once returned any calls. My husband called over and over again but we were ignored. Finally he reached a supervisor who told us they helped us last year…no, they allowed us to pay them for 6 months and then lowered our payment by $11 a month. Now we have someone who is a go between and all she tells us is the underwriters are working on it, call back in 2 weeks and call back in 2 weeks. I have Fibromyalgia and take lots of medications, but was working until laid off 3/2011. Found work in 9/2011 and it was discovered I had a hearing loss and was terminated because I couldn’t meet hearing criteria. I had 2 back surgeries in 2009 and am looking at another surgery soon. We worked with an agency last year to get the $11 reduction. WF just keeps heaping more and more charges on us and never will they ever ever accept a partial payment. The whole restructuring thing is a joke…the banks would rather burn a house down than work with the homeowner to keep the house! We are also raising 3 young grandchildren what do we tell them when our house is gone?

  7. Tracey
    January 17, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    I have to agree with the comment of – What are the servicers doing right? NOTHING! The frustration and tears that we have wasted trying to save our home is heart wrenching. Trying to get someone to listen, give us correct information, or someone to tell us “Yes, we have your information and are processing it”. We aren’t trying to get out of paying our mortgage. We want to pay our debt! We’re begging to let us pay our debt! We worked hard for our home and want to keep it. Our family went thru a really hard time. Apparently, when the banks were also in trouble and we bailed them out the favor wasn’t really to be returned. I guess as long as the CEO’s got there big bonuses and get to live in there ridiculously large houses its all good!

  8. January 19, 2012 at 2:21 am

    Hi, I’m not affiliated with HSI trust but I do have several bank protest blogs and I am encouraging you all to sign the HSI petition at Change dot org to help a family that had their home parallel foreclosed upon by Wells Fargo and then sold by Wells Fargo even though the family was completely compliant with their government mandated mortgage payment strucuture.

    Please help another family keep their home, and the success of that mission may eventually bless your own situation. http://www.change.org/petitions/john-g-stumpf-ceo-wells-fargo-rescind-rachel-kendalls-foreclosure-auction.

    If you agree to sign the petition, you don’t have to use your real address or zip code if you don’t want to, just make one up. However I would suggest using your real name and correct email address.

  9. brenda badger
    January 23, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    my story short and sad ….husband laid off in 2008 life insurance lapsed struggled 2009 behind on everything but morgage….. always paid that morgage 2009 dec 7 my husband went to er with what he thought was nuemonia died dec 16 with stage 4 cancer no warning. tried to modify w/pnc told me mad to much money. i bring home 767.00 bi weekly my morgage is 1040.00 month have 7 years to pay on it we had it all planned out for retirement again trying to remodify they want to short sale it ask if i want to let it go send all these little brochures on what you can do.. is all i tell them whoever them is ( call center with some idiots answering the phone that have no clue about anything to give me advice on what nothing…..) my husband died for god sakes at 50 years old .. this is my home where i raised my children…. and they want me to give it up this iis america… we sure help out every other country in need.. i don’t get it just help me i wake up and think about this and go to bed thinking about this this is why people give up and just say suicide might take it away..

    • January 23, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      Brenda,

      Please email us at info@hsitrust.org. We may be able to help.

      • Tracey
        January 23, 2012 at 10:33 pm

        My prayers and heart is with you and your family! I Pray that you have piece and the mortgage company does the right thing by you . Have faith and pray to the Wonerful word above. Somedays maybe harder than others, but is there for you and your family and taking extra care of your wonderful husband! God bless you and your loved ones. Nomatter the trials I maybe going thru I always say ” God is good , All the time” and he will never give you more than you can handle! I pray for you and your family that you recieive piece and happiness again! You are always loved and watched over. Amen!

      • brenda badger
        January 24, 2012 at 11:07 pm

        im not looking for empathy,because people deal with death everyday but on the flipside there’s just no one in this country that can make a decision for each situation. Its all about money. to remodify my morgage extend the terms or lower the interest is better than a short sale or forecclosure.. only a braindead person could figure that out. i just don’t get it i want to pay. i work hard everyday to keep my home might not be able to pay the utilites or fix what needs to be fixed but i pay and its by draining my 4o1k to do it thats wrg……. again we need lots of support here… these people that make millions need to see what us real people with real lives are doing. this is real

      • January 25, 2012 at 12:06 am

        Brenda, did you sign the petition and spread the word for others to sign it? 428 signatures and the petition appears to be running out of steam, with only 8 new signatures in the past day.

        Have you clicked the notify me box that says notify me of follow-up comments?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

